Fandom

Tractor & Construction Plant Wiki

Agricultural shows

16,089pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share
East of Engjand Show livestock judging - IMG 0109

Livestock judging in the parade ring at the East of England Show 2010

East of England Show - prize presentation - working horses and wagons - IMG 0148

Presentation of Prizes in one of the Equestrian classes for 'working horses and wagons' at the East of England Show 2010

Lincoln rally fairground 2009 - IMG 4575

All the fun of the Fair - Sideshows and rides may be part of a Agricultural Show

An agricultural show is a public event showcasing the equipment, animals, sports and recreation associated with agriculture and animal husbandry. The largest comprise a livestock show (a judged event or display in which breeding stock is exhibited), a trade fair, competitions, and entertainment. The work and practices of farmers, animal fanciers, cowboys & equestrians and zoologists may be displayed. The terms agricultural show and livestock show are sometimes used synonymously.

A show is the Commonwealth term for an annual country fair.

OverviewEdit

AustraliaEdit

In Australia, the show is an important part of cultural life. Shows range from small events in small country towns usually lasting two days, through medium-sized events of three days, to the all-encompassing Royal Shows in state capitals, which may run for up to two weeks and combine many elements of an amusement park with those of an agricultural show. Although increasingly under pressure due to finances and insurance concerns, all main towns have a Show Society and in some areas, several towns and villages in the area all have an annual show. Larger shows often include live entertainment and fireworks in the main arena.

A distinctive feature of Australian shows is the showbag, a themed carry bag of commercial goods.

Competitions commonly included in Australian shows include:


United KingdomEdit

Bakewell Show cheese tent 09 - IMG 261

Display of prize wining cheese at the Bakewell Show

Bakewell Show trophys 09 - IMG 2518

A few of the many trophies that are awarded in the competition classes at Bakewell Show, Some of the prizes date back to the 1800s

In the United Kingdom, the Agricultural show has evoled from the classic farmers only day out event to a more general country show and fair to appeal to a wider audience. Several of the older shows with histories going back to the 18oo's have disappeared. the most famous recent loss being The Royal Show closing in 2009.

Regional events such as The Great Yorkshire Show and Bakewell Show have grown from one day events to 2 or 3 days and covering more country pursuits and country life interests that just the farming classes and trade stands of old. A lot of the shows promote local produce with sections for meat and dairy products made on local farms and produced by local butchers. Other artistic pursuits such as flower arranging are also very competitive.

Field daysEdit

Related to a show is the "field day", with elements of a trade show for machinery, equipment and skills required for arable (broadacre) farming. Field days typically do not involve livestock, showbags or sideshows, but may include events such as ploughing competitions not usually associated with shows due to the larger space required. In some communities in northern England Field Days (or Club Days) have lost their agricultural character and have become community celebrations.

Trade shows (UK)Edit

Main article: Trade shows

One of the biggest is the annual LAMMA Show held in Lincolnshire in January that started as a Local event for agricultural machinery manufactures to pitch there wares to the local arable farmers during the quiet winter months, before the spring sowing season.

List of Royal ShowsEdit

Australia

Canada

New Zealand

South Africa

  • The Royal Show - Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal

United Kingdom

Ireland

List of other major agricultural and livestock showsEdit

Argentina

Brazil

Australia

France

New Zealand

United Kingdom List includes notable local shows as well as county shows

There are agricultural shows throughout the UK, mainly from May to September. You can use the table below to look up the shows in the counties which are near you. Use the website links to check the dates and details of the next shows.

Map showing the counties of Britain, click on this link: OS map of Britain

(you will need to click on the map to change the zoom size so that you can read it clearly)
ENGLAND
County Show
(in alphabetical order)
Website
Hampshire Alresford Show http://www.alresfordshow.co.uk
Leicestershire Ashby Show http://www.ashbyshow.com
Derbyshire Bakewell Show
Known as 'The Little Royal'
http://www.bakewellshow.org
Buckinghamshire Bucks County Show http://www.buckscountyshow.co.uk
Cambridgeshire Cambridgeshire County Show http://www.cambscountyshow.co.uk
Cheshire Cheshire County Show http://www.cheshirecountyshow.org.uk
Gloucestershire Cotswold Show http://www.cotswoldshow.co.uk
Surrey Cranleigh Show http://www.cranleighshow.org.uk
Cumbria Cumberland Show http://www.cumberlandshow.co.uk
Derbyshire Derbyshire County Show http://www.derbyshirecountyshow.org.uk
Devon Devon County Show http://www.devoncountyshow.co.uk
Dorset Dorset County Show http://www.dorsetcountyshow.co.uk
East Yorkshire Driffield Show http://www.driffieldshow.co.uk
Cambridgeshire East of England Show http://www.eastofengland.org.uk
Surrey Edenbridge and Oxted Show http://www.edenbridge-show.co.uk
County Durham Eggleston Show http://www.egglestonshow.org.uk
Northumberland Glendale Show http://www.glendaleshow.com
Bedfordshire Gransden Show http://www.gransdenshow.co.uk
North Yorkshire Great Yorkshire Show http://www.greatyorkshireshow.com
Oxfordshire Henley Show http://www.thehenleyshow.com
Hertfordshire Herts County Show http://www.hertsshow.com
Kent Kent County Show http://www.kentshowground.co.uk/Kent+County+Show
Leicestershire Leicestershire County Show http://www.leicestershire-county-show.co.uk
Lincolnshire Lincolnshire Show http://www.lincolnshireshowground.co.uk/lincolnshire_show
Cumbria Lowther Horse Driving Trials & Country Fair http://www.lowther.co.uk/events
Devon Mid Devon Show http://www.middevonshow.co.uk
Somerset Mid Somerset Show http://www.midsomersetshow.org.uk
Cheshire Nantwich and South Cheshire Show http://www.nantwichshow.co.uk/s_what.html
Nottinghamshire Newark & Nottinghamshire County Show http://www.newarkshowground.com/cs_home.htm
Hampshire New Forest & Hampshire County Show http://www.newforestshow.co.uk
North Yorkshire Nidderdale Show http://www.nidderdaleshow.co.uk
Northumberland Northumberland County Show http://www.northcountyshow.co.uk
North Yorkshire North Yorkshire Show http://www.northyorkshireshow.co.uk
Somerset North Somerset Show http://www.nsas.org.uk/show.ihtml
Oxfordshire Oxfordshire County and Thame Show http://www.thameshow.co.uk
South Yorkshire Penistone Show http://www.penistoneshow.org.uk
Cumbria Penrith Show http://www.penrithshow.co.uk
Cambridgeshire Pymoor Agricultural & Country Show http://www.pymoorshow.com
Hampshire Romsey Show http://www.romseyshow.co.uk
Somerset Royal Bath & West Show http://www.bathandwest.com
Cornwall Royal Cornwall Show http://www.royalcornwallshow.org
Berkshire Royal County of Berkshire Show
(Newbury Show)
http://www.newburyshow.co.uk
Hampshire Royal Isle of Wight Agricultural Society Show http://www.riwas.org.uk
Lancashire Royal Lancashire Agricultural Show http://www.rlas.co.uk/show.htm
Norfolk Royal Norfolk Show http://www.royalnorfolkshow.co.uk
Warwickshire Royal Show (Now Defunct) http://www.royalshow.org.uk
Rutland Rutland County Show http://www.rutlandcountyshow.co.uk
West Sussex South of England Show http://www.seas.org.uk/shows.asp
Nottinghamshire Southwell Ploughing Match and Show http://www.southwellploughingmatch.co.uk
Staffordshire Staffordshire County Show http://www.staffscountyshowground.co.uk/county_show.htm
Suffolk Suffolk Show http://www.suffolkshow.co.uk
Surrey Surrey County Show http://www.surreycountyshow.co.uk
Worcestershire Three Counties Show http://www.threecounties.co.uk/ threecounties
North Yorkshire Wensleydale Agricultural Show http://www.wensleydaleshow.org.uk
Shropshire West Mid Show http://www.westmidshow.co.uk
Cumbria Westmorland County Show http://www.westmorlandshow.co.uk


WALES
County Show
(in alphabetical order)
Website
Anglesey Anglesey Show http://www.angleseyshow.org.uk
Ceredigion Cardigan County Agricultural Show http://www.cardigancountyshow.co.uk
Carmarthenshire Carmarthenshire County Show (United Counties Show) http://www.sioesirgar.co.uk
Conwy Cerrig Show http://www.cerrigshow.co.uk
Flintshire Denbigh and Flint Show http://www.denbighandflintshow.com
Ceredigion Lampeter Agricultural Show http://www.lampeter.org/english/Agri Show
Ceredigion Llanilar Show http://www.llanilarshow.co.uk
Pembrokeshire Pembrokeshire County Show http://www.pembrokeshirecountyshow.co.uk
Powys Royal Welsh Show http://www.rwas.co.uk/en/welsh-show/the-royal-welsh-show
Monmouthshire Usk Show http://www.uskshow.co.uk
SCOTLAND
County Show (in alphabetical order) Website
Angus Angus Show http://www.theangusshow.com
Ayrshire Ayr County Show http://www.ayrcountyshow.co.uk
Scottish Borders Border Union Show http://www.buas.org/show
Perthshire Doune & Dunblane Show http://www.douneanddunblaneshow.co.uk
Dumfries & Galloways Dumfries Show http://www.dumfriesshow.co.uk
Fife Fife Show http://www.fifeshow.com
Angus Kirriemuir Show http://www.kirriemuir-show.co.uk
Argyll & Bute Mid Argyll Show http://www.mid-argyllshow.co.uk
Edinburgh Royal Highland Show http://www.royalhighlandshow.org
Dumfries & Galloways Stranraer Show http://www.stranraershow.co.uk
Aberdeenshire Turriff Show http://www.turriffshow.org


NORTHERN IRELAND
County Show (in alphabetical order) Website
Belfast Balmoral Show http://www.balmoralshow.co.uk
County Down Castlewellan Show http://www.castlewellanshow.com

United States

See alsoEdit

ReferencesEdit

External linksEdit

{{REL



Smallwikipedialogo This page uses some content from Wikipedia. The original article was at Agricultural shows. The list of authors can be seen in the page history. As with Tractor & Construction Plant Wiki, the text of Wikipedia is available under the Creative Commons by Attribution License and/or GNU Free Documentation License. Please check page history for when the original article was copied to Wikia

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.